DIY Bow Holder

I never dreamed I would say this, but I have a bow problem.  I feel the need to make sure Gabriella has a bow to coordinate with every outfit and for any and every special event.  I make a lot of them and buy some of them…regardless, there are A LOT of them and bow storage was quickly becoming a problem.

I saw THIS on Pinterest and decided I wanted to make my own, BIGGER version for Gabriella’s room. (Because of the location, I couldn’t get a picture of it straight on so that’s why it looks a bit crooked…)

I started by measuring the area in which the frame would go.  I decided I wanted a 36″ by 26″ frame.  I went to Lowe’s and purchased two 8 foot strips of this particle board framing.  Remember, a visit to Lowe’s feels like a visit to Japan for me.  It’s totally overwhelming, but I just wander until I find what I think I need.  If I were to do this over, I would have bought wood framing instead so the frame would be sturdier.  My friend, Joleen, offered her husband’s labor to cut and put the frame together for me.  Gotta love great friends!

Once the frame was done, I spray painted it black (two coats).  This is the spray paint I used.  I have no idea if it’s the best kind…it’s what I found in Lowe’s AKA Japan.

After the spray paint dried, I used the frame to help me measure ten strips of 7/8″ wide ribbon.  Once I had all the strips cut, I set two aside so I could add snaps to them.  I ordered Gabriella some bows from LuLu & ChaCha and she used snaps on the back of her bows rather than clips.  I loved the idea so I’ve made several bows with snaps since then.  So, I wanted to make sure her bow holder could hold the snap backed bows, too.  The snaps and the tools I used to attach them are pictured below.

Next, I cut a piece of ribbon 2″ long and used it to help me measure and place the ribbons before I stapled them down.

Then, I pulled each side of the ribbon tight and attached them with one staple per side.

Finally, I added three of these hangers onto the back of the frame…one in the middle and one on each end.

Once the back was done, I flipped the frame over and screwed in one cup hook at the bottom of each ribbon.  I was able to just twist them in with my hands…no need to pre drill holes.

And…voila!

I Heart Nap Time


2 Comments on “DIY Bow Holder”

  1. Dawn says:

    I love this Amy! It made me laugh that you posted this because I just finished a similar project in the girls room using a frame and chicken wire and thought to myself that GK needed something similar for all her bows. Your angel has more hair pretties than my two combined 🙂

  2. With two little girls, this is SO needed! Thank you!!!


Leave a comment