8 Months Old

Well, it’s that time again!  Another month has quickly flown by and my little girl is getting bigger, doing more, moving more, and revealing more of her personality with each new day.

The big news of this month is that Gabriella’s first tooth has finally popped through!  This doesn’t seem to have brought her any relief as she continues to chew on anything and everything.  I’m sure the next few teeth are not too far behind!

Gabriella is enjoying her ability to sit up, but has not moved much beyond that.  Anytime I put her on her tummy, she rolls right over.  She does scoot all over the place, but no attempt to crawl, as of yet.  I have a feeling her laid back personality may keep her from feeling the need to be in a rush to move, and frankly, I’m okay with that!

Gabriella is babbling a lot!  She’s making the “mm,” “bah bah,” and “duh duh” sounds pretty frequently.  She especially starts to talk when other people are talking around her…like she’s joining right in the conversation.  She also squeals/squeaks/screams a lot to express her joy.

Gabriella LOVES her big brother.  She is filled with joy when he talks to her and plays with her.  I’m so excited to watch their relationship grow!

We’re still continuing our battle with trying to get Gabriella to eat baby food which has meant she continues to wake up 2-3 times a night.  Let’s just say I’m very thankful to be able to nap while the kids nap several days a week.

I’ve noticed a few times over the past month that Gabriella seems to be more affected when we leave the room or move out of her line of sight.  I can tell that she prefers her mommy and daddy and misses us when we’re gone or out of sight.  I love that!

Gabriella got to meet her great grandma Johnson (my dad’s mom) for the first time this month when she came in to visit from California.  Apparently she wanted to show grandma how graceful and flexible she is…

She also got to meet my grandma’s sister, her great aunt Laverne.

Speaking of Aunt Laverne, I got all teary-eyed when I watched her push her cane out of the way and get her 85 year old self up off the couch to dance with Reuben.  May I always live my life with that much spontaneity and fun!

We made an appointment with a pediatric eye doctor because I thought I had been noticing her left eye turning in a bit.  We were relieved to hear from the doctor that everything looks just great and as her face changes, the appearance of a slightly crossed eye will diminish.

20120611-185648.jpg

My cutie on Memorial Day

A week at the beach and a busy Memorial Day weekend with family visiting from out of town wore her out!

Even though she refuses to eat when I feed her, she chowed down on the imaginary food Reuben fed her in his room.  Later that evening, I tried to let Reuben feed her her baby food to see if that would help…no such luck!

Hanging out with Madelyn at the park!

We made the decision to transition Gabriella to her big car seat because I was getting tired of carrying her around in her carrier.  It was getting too heavy!  She is so happy to be in the bigger seat!  There have been a few times that she dozed off in the car and I wished I could have carried her inside without waking her, but besides that we’re happy we made the switch.  Now…if we can just survive keeping her backward facing until age 2!

I just LOVE dressing her up and picking out her coordinating bows each day.  I know…I know…I’m eating my words…big time.

See how happy she is?!?

Gabriella loves going to Story Time every Wednesday at the library.  It is such a fun, weekly activity that both kids seem to really enjoy!

20120611-185322.jpg

Gabriella has been a trooper this month with all the Thunder chaos going on.  She has amazingly slept through all the cheering and carrying on during the games.  When we won the western conference last week, I dragged her sleepy little self out of bed and took her to Dick’s with us to get a t-shirt.  Thankfully, she didn’t seem to mind too much.

20120611-185303.jpg

Nick and I love to go in a check on the kids every night before we go to bed.  On this particular night, we caught her with one foot out from under the covers and propped up on the bed…looked like something I would do!

Yes, she is always this happy…well, 99.9% of the time.

We started swimming lessons with the kids this past week.  I was amazed at how much the instructor could get Gabriella to do…

…and she seemed to really enjoy herself!

Just this past week, Gabriella has discovered how to clap her hands.  She’s pretty proud of herself and has started doing it all the time.  I think it’s just precious!

The infamous first tooth!


One Comment on “8 Months Old”

  1. Becca says:

    Goodness you have such beautiful babies!


Leave a Reply

