Celebration #4: Mom’s 60th Birthday

On Sunday, my sisters and I hosted a tea party to celebrate my mom’s 60th birthday.  Unfortunately, my sister, Rachel, couldn’t be there because her baby girl was born the day before.  We missed her party hosting skills, but we managed to pull it off without her!  We had a wonderful time planning, preparing, and hosting this birthday celebration for my mom.  Mom always goes above and beyond to celebrate with us on every occasion so it was nice to return the favor!

We rented the clubhouse in my parents’ neighborhood to hold the event.  We also hijacked several decorations from my mom’s house to complete our tea party scene.  We joked with her and told her she was on a scavenger hunt to see how many of her own items she could find throughout the party 😉

We used mason jars as vases and set each place with a teacup and saucer.

Shannon and I stopped to take a quick picture in the midst of finishing up a few final things before the party started.

Our guest of honor, my mom.  I hope I look half as good as her when I’m turning 60!  Absolutely gorgeous.

We served a few dessert items to accompany the tea…chocolate covered strawberries, pretzel and rolo deliciousness bites (name created by yours truly), and apples and heath dip.  We also served a cake by none other than Merritt’s Bakery.

Mom and her girls…minus Rachel 😦

I love this picture of Mom and Lori (aka LoLo), one of our dearest friends of 20+ years.

Mom took a moment to thank her friends for coming to help celebrate her birthday.  She admitted that this celebration was a bit awkward for her, being the center of attention and all, but I’m so thankful we had this opportunity to shower her with love and lots of attention!

As if the presence of her dearest friends wasn’t enough, she was blessed with several gifts of all sorts.  It was so fun to see what her friends picked out for her.  This group of friends definitely knows her well!

Today is my mom’s actual birthday.  I have stopped several times throughout the day to pray and thank God for what an amazing gift my mom is to me.  I am so blessed to have a mom who CARES ABUNDANTLY, GIVES FREELY, LOVES UNCONDITIONALLY, and SERVES WHOLEHEARTEDLY.  She serves as a wonderful example to me.  What I am most thankful for is having a mom who couples as my best friend.  I know that I can call my mom anytime, any day, for anything, and she will genuinely care and show interest in the small details of my life.  I hope to one day look back and see that I’ve left a legacy similar to that of my mom.

Love you, Mom!  Happy Birthday!


3 Comments on “Celebration #4: Mom’s 60th Birthday”

  1. Mama Mac says:

    Thank you, Amy. I keep saying it, “My heart overfloweth!”

  2. auntie linda says:

    Oh !
    What a beautiful and elegant party ! You Girls are the BEST..
    I have known your mom since we were fifteen , and i have to say she is one incredible , loving , caring FRIEND! I am so happy that she was born !! ( Even when we were cheerleaders in high school and i was soooo much bigger , and 5′ 10 “, I always knew when i stood on her shoulders she would NEVER drop me ! ( joke ).
    Auntie Linda,
    and, No JOKE, because of Carol, I know JESUS !

  3. Lori aka Lolo says:

    You girls did such an awesome job throwing this fun shin-dig!!! It was decorated so cute and the food was DELISH!!! But the best part was just getting to be with my forever friends….minus sweet little lamb, Rachel…

    Your family has been such a vital part of my life and your sweet Mom has encouraged and counseled and loved me for about 28 years!!!

    If I remember correctly, Amy, you were 2 when your dad came to TU as the BSU director. Wow!! I’m OLD!!!

    Thank you, sweet girls, for the lovely afternoon!!! We still want the whole gang to come to Pryor for dinner sometime……

    Love you all..

    Lolo


Leave a comment