Cute Gift for a Baby Boy

A few of my friends are having baby boys in the upcoming months so I’ve been on the hunt for a cute, handmade gift.  I found THIS tutorial for some adorable baby cardigans and just had to try them.  I used the template on THIS tutorial to make a tie onesie to go underneath the cardigan (I use embroidery thread and hand stitch around the edge of the applique rather than using the sewing machine).

A few notes on the cardigan…it was a lot harder than I prepared myself for, but after I completed one whole cardigan, the second one was much easier.  NEITHER of them are anywhere close to perfect.  Also, the first time around, I did the cuffs on the sleeves and decided it was a lot of work for minimal impact so I decided to scrap that part on the second one.

I gave one to my friend at her baby shower on Sunday and am sticking this one in the mail for another friend.  They both have baby boys due in December.  I think these would pair nicely with some khakis or jeans to make a super cute Christmas outfit🙂

(Pssst…baby boy Mac, don’t let your Grandma Brown inspect this too closely.  She is a MUCH more talented seamstress than I and she might be completely appalled by my technique.)


7 Comments on “Cute Gift for a Baby Boy”

  1. Caney says:

    I want to have a little boy, I absolutely LOVE this!

  2. How adorable! I LOVE that you added snaps to the front! What a great idea! And it’s perfect that you paired it with a tie onesie!

    • lifethroughmyeyes says:

      Thanks, Heather! Honestly, I did the snaps because sewing button holes stresses me out! Ha! Thanks again for the inspiration🙂

  3. […] when I started my cardigan onesie making process, I committed to make one for four different families that are expecting boys in the next few […]

  4. Lauren says:

    I just completed this tutorial and yours looks WAY better than mine! How did you get your grey border to lay flat like that? Mine is SO rouched looking…


Leave a Reply

