I’m in a Funk

Maybe it’s the lack of sleep…
Maybe it’s the lack of routine…
Maybe it’s the lack of weekly activities…
Maybe it’s the insane schedule Nick has been keeping lately…
Maybe it’s an upcoming season of change…
Maybe it’s the cruel heat…
Maybe it’s a teething baby…
Maybe it’s the daily negotiations with a certain little boy…
Maybe (and most likely) it’s a combination of everything….

Whatever it is, it’s annoying and I’m over it. I have a to-do list that’s a mile long…clean the house, work on the budget, prepare for Gabriella’s first birthday, projects for the master bedroom and bathroom makeover, learn how to coupon…BUT, when it comes to naptime or bedtime, instead of kicking it into gear and checking things off my list, I just want to sleep. While that sounds like a good idea considering how exhausting my days and nights have been lately, it’s really counterproductive. The longer I go without feeling productive, the more it feeds into the funk. When I cross things off my list, I feel so energized. If I could just muster up enough motivation to get me through several consecutive days of productivity, I know I can catapult myself right off of this place. And if I can’t…I better hope the excitement that fall brings can do the trick…

In the meantime, I’ll be laying in bed thinking of all the things I need to get done. That is, until one or both my kids need me😉


2 Comments on “I’m in a Funk”

  1. Sherri Swinson says:

    I hate funks…….you can’t see them coming……..all of a sudden, you find yourself in the middle of one. I blame them on hormones. I will pray for your quick deliverance from the funk, but it seems you get about 10 times more projects done than the rest of us, funk or no funk!

  2. I’m on the verge of breaking out of my funk – just like yours. It seems like once my list gets to a certain point of being too long it’s almost impossible to get back top. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

