The Comparison Challenge

Have you seen or heard this quote from Franklin Roosevelt?

20120711-153726.jpg

What about this one from Steven Furtick’s book, “Sun Stand Still?”

The reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind-the- scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel.

And I’d like to add one more quote…really more of a theory…from a friend we had coffee with this past weekend. (This isn’t a direct quote, but my best recollection of what I heard him say.)

Women tend to compare themselves to a collage made up of the top 10% of each of their friends.  We have no chance to measure up to this collage because we’re not taking into account the other 90% which includes some failure, shortcomings, and a whole lot of REALITY. 

Lets face it. I have NO SHOT for success when I try to perform according to the standard I’ve set for myself based on  the BEST I observe about those who surround me…via relationships, blogs, social media, Hollywood, etc. I simply can’t measure up. The standard is unachievable.

I know this is true, but I often don’t live like I believe it is true. I spend my time stressed out, overwhelmed, and feeling insecure because the way I look or act and the level at which I perform is simply sub par compared to those around me.  And the insecurity-wrapped lies start to pour in:

I’m lazy…I didn’t get all my projects done.

I’m impatient…I lost my temper with my kids.

I waste my time…It’s been too long since my house was properly cleaned.

I’m a failure…I’m not losing weight fast enough.

I’m unintentional…I’m not maximizing my time with my kids by doing more fun crafts and activities during the day.

And, honestly, I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in this dangerous downward spiral.  BUT, there’s some good news!  The lies are fairly easy to recognize and they are just that…LIES.

So…I’m challenging myself in three ways:

  1. Work on recognizing the lies, identifying their roots, and replacing them with truth.
  2. Encourage more people and more often!  Tell a mom she’s doing a great job and I admire her…tell someone she looks beautiful and how much I love her outfit…tell someone what a great job she did on her craft project…etc.
  3. Daily remind myself of how He sees me and who He’s created me to be and trust Him!

Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. –Jeremiah 17:7

So…are you up for the challenge, too??


4 Comments on “The Comparison Challenge”

  1. Christi Nix Bloomer says:

    Beautiful! Love this entry and I know I needed it today! Thanks for speaking the message I needed to hear from Him today!

  2. Becca says:

    Well said, Amy! And I didn’t realize you were on a weight-loss mission until I saw your post about your run and MAN do you look good! So proud of you.

  3. JOurneY says:

    So True!!! And beautifully written! I am up for the challenge😉

  4. Heather Tiger says:

    Awesome post Amy. Beautifully written and expressed and so true. I needed to read this, and even more I need to accept the same challenge! I had to share this post, so thanks! BTW, I think you are an awesome mom, wife, and individual (all 100%, that includes flaws too!) You are perfectly the way HE created you,


Leave a Reply

