Freedom

Free to live. Free to give. Free to be. Free to love You.

These are the lyrics from a song we’ve been singing at church lately.  Honestly, I haven’t really paid all that much attention to this song before.  Since Gabriella was born, I’ve been in and out of church based on her feeding schedule and I’ve just recently been able to sit through most or all of a service again.  When we sang this song this past weekend, these words stuck out to me and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them.

This is my mantra.  My anthem.  My prayer.

I want to be FREE TO LIVE.

I want to do things for fun…live spontaneously…not be bound by a schedule or an expectation.  Don’t get me wrong.  My Type A self won’t allow me to abandon all structure; however, I don’t want to miss out on LIFE because I haven’t scheduled it in my Erin Condren planner.  I know that I am so blessed.  I want to enjoy and savor this wonderful life God has given me and share of His goodness and faithfulness to me and my family.

I want to be FREE TO GIVE.

He has been so faithful to me so I never want to miss an opportunity to give to others.  I want to be a good steward of our finances so we’re free to give financially to others when and where He’s leading us to give.  I want to give of my time and be present when my friends and family need me to be.  I want to continue to craft and make little gifts that can serve as an encouragement in times of despair or joy, to celebrate special occasions, or to brighten up a random day in the middle of everyday life.

I want to be FREE TO BE.

As I have shared several times before, I have been on a long journey over the past year.  Along this journey, I am learning to discover and cherish the truths about how God sees me, what He feels about me, and how He has designed me…AND EMBRACE THEM.  I want to live my life free from obligation to a standard or expectation I have set for myself based on society’s standards.  I want to be ME and surround myself with those who celebrate who He’s created me to be.

I want to be FREE TO LOVE YOU.

I want to know Him more.  I want to take Him at His word and celebrate His promises.  As I do this, I will naturally love Him more.  And as I love Him more, I will share of His goodness.  My ultimate goal in this life is to be a testimony of a life changed by Him and that through my everyday life I will direct all the glory back to Him…For He deserves every single bit.

“Holding Nothing Back,” by Tim Hughes, performed by Jesus Culture



Leave a Reply

