DIY Monogrammed Tote

Do you ever just wander the aisles of Hobby Lobby looking for something to jump out and inspire you?  I do.  I have several gift-giving occasions coming up so I spent some time wandering last week and came up with a few ideas.

The idea I’m sharing today is a quick and easy, super cute monogrammed tote bag that I’m sure any woman would love to receive.  I made this bag for the Worship Arts assistant at our church for Assistant’s Appreciation Day last week.  She enjoys crocheting so I envisioned this being a great bag for her to carry around her supplies and current project(s) in.

The bag was great as is from HL, but adding a monogram just puts it over the top (in my honest and very humble opinion).

The first step was to design and cut out the letters on my Cameo.  I’ve been loving the font “American Typewriter.”  (Shhh…I made a bag for Reuben’s MDO teachers too.)

 I ironed the sewable fabric interfacing onto the back of the fabric before cutting it.

Then, I ironed the letter onto the bag.  The interfacing held it in place long enough for me to hand stitch around the outer edge of the letter with white embroidery floss.

And…the finished product!

An up close of the stitching…

I’m a firm believer in homemade gifts or gifts with at least a little bit of a personal touch.  A little extra time and thought to make something personal and special far outweighs the monetary value.

Leave a Reply

