Mexican Chicken Casserole

(I used the picture off myrecipes.com because I never think to get my camera out while cooking.)

I found this recipe on Pinterest a few months ago and we LOVE it.  I’ve made it twice now and it’s been SO good both times.  The BEST part is that one serving is only 5 points on Weight Watchers (if your 9×13 pan yields 8 servings).  I serve the casserole with corn (2 points) and tortilla chips and salsa (4 points for 12 chips).  SO…the total meal is only 11 points!

The recipe, how I prepare it, is below.  If you’d like to see the original recipe, click the link above.

Mexican Chicken Casserole

  • 1 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 (4.5 ounce) cans chopped green chiles
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 teaspoons light olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion (I use the frozen pre-chopped onions)
  • 1 cup evaporated skim milk
  • 1 cup (4 oz) shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/4 cup (2 oz) fat free cream cheese
  • 1 (10 oz) can enchilada sauce
  • 8 (6-in) corn tortillas
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup (2 0z) shredded, reduced-fat, cheddar cheese
  • 1 (4 oz) can sliced black olives
  1. Combine broth and 1 can green chiles in large skillet; bring to a boil.
  2. Add chicken (I cut each breast in half), reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until chicken is done, turning chicken once.
  3. Remove chicken from cooking liquid, reserving cooking liquid.
  4. Cool chicken and shred with 2 forks.
  5. Preheat oven to 350.
  6. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
  7. Add 1 can green chiles and onion.  Saute 3 minutes or until soft.
  8. Add reserved cooking liquid, milk, MJ cheese, cream cheese, and enchilada sauce.  Stir well.
  9. Stir in shredded chicken and cook for 2 minutes.  Remove from heat.
  10. Place 4 tortillas in the bottom of a 9×13 pan coated with cooking spray.
  11. Spoon half chicken mixture over the tortillas.
  12. Repeat layers one more time ending with chicken mixture on top.
  13. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese and black olives.
  14. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

3 Comments on “Mexican Chicken Casserole”

  1. beginsatsundown says:

    I also found this recipe on pinterest. I plan on making it this weekend. Glad to know that it is so tasty.

  2. Caney says:

    Thank You! I brought 4 recipe cards to mtg last night, I thought we had to turn them in like an assignment…..Lol It was some things that I made this week that I really enjoyed.


Leave a Reply

