DIY Hostess Gift

As a way to thank the beautiful hostesses of the baby shower, I wanted to make them a unique, fun, and budget friendly gift. I saw these DIY cupcake stands on I Heart Naptime, and it got my wheels to turnin’. I don’t really know how practical it is to have a stand for one cupcake so I wanted to make them a stand that could hold about a dozen. This is what I came up with…

(Please don’t mind the poor quality of the pics 😦 I used my point and shoot because my DSLR was out of battery life…boo)

If I was a true DIYer, I would have thought to take pictures of the process, but alas, I’m not and I didn’t. I’ll leave you with a supply list and a simple step-by-step tutorial.

Supplies

  • white spray paint
  • yellow spray paint
  • Mod Podge
  • scrapbook paper
  • doily
  • 1 candlestick (Dollar Tree)
  • 1 stove top burner cover (come in a pack of 2 at Dollar Tree)
  • high-strength adhesive (I used 9001 from Hobby Lobby)

Step-by-Step

  1. Spray paint candlestick with white paint.
  2. Spray paint stove top burner cover with yellow paint.
  3. I used my Silhouette to cut the circles of scrapbook paper and the cupcake in the center.
  4. Once the spray paint is completely dry, place your circles around the outer edge and use the Mod Podge to secure them to the stove top burner cover.
  5. Next, Mod Podge your doily on top of the circles.
  6. Finally, Mod Podge the cupcake in the center of the doily.
  7. Once everything is dry, use your high-strength adhesive to stick your candlestick to the bottom of the stove top burner cover.
*This cupcake stand cannot be easily washed, so I recommend using it for cupcakes that are in liners. You can wipe it down with a moist cloth after use, but that’s about it.*

2 Comments on “DIY Hostess Gift”

  1. Jen Giles says:

    SO cute! I would have never thought to use a stove top burner cover!! Love it!

  2. Ashley says:

    Great idea!


Leave a Reply

