Gabriella Kate’s Nursery

Shhhh!  Can you hear that?  It’s just me breathing a HUGE sigh of relief because Gabriella Kate’s nursery is DONE.  When I was pregnant with Reuben, I was put on bed rest for the last 3 weeks and then he was in the NICU for 10 days so I got so behind and his room wasn’t completely done until he was 4 months old!

When I chose the color scheme for Reuben’s room, I wanted to do a neutral that could work for either a boy or a girl so when the second baby came, I wouldn’t have to start completely over.  It was so fun to take the basic color and design of Reuben’s room and spruce it up for our baby girl.

When we first moved into the house, this bedroom was a guest room/catch all room.  It looked like this:

We then transformed it into Reuben’s nursery.  It looked like THIS.

And, now, it’s all beautified for our sweet Gabriella Kate 🙂

(I took pictures last night and this morning.  Some of them turned out better with different light.)

This is the view when you first walk in.  Her bedding is Black Damask from Carousel Designs.  One of my favorite things about this company is that you can purchase the fabric used for the bedding.  They were charging between $75-$85 for a window valance, so I just ordered a yard of the fabric for $7.50 and made my own.  I also made the tissue paper pom-poms, and Nick did an amazing job hanging them for me.  We used white thumbtacks and fishing line to hang them from the ceiling.  If you haven’t made the pom-poms before, they’re super easy.  Here’s a tutorial: http://www.marthastewart.com/how-to/tissue-paper-pom-poms-how-to

This display is on the wall to your left when you first walk in.  I spray painted embroidery hoops of different sizes, added black & white fabric, and then hand stitched her initials onto the middle piece.

I made her name using chipboard letters from Hobby Lobby covered with scrapbook paper and Mod Podge.

Rachel made the BABY sign for Reuben’s nursery.  I decided to just change out the zebra decals for little flowers.

This shelf was a great place for me to display some of the amazing crafts that my friends made for the shower.  Joleen made the cute letter blocks, Liz made the Kate (and gave me the picture frame and pillow), and Vivi made the amazing paper flowers.  I love it all!  I got the super cute piggy bank on sale for $6.74 yesterday at Target 🙂

I don’t plan on leaving the swing in that corner, but it’s a nice temporary home until our living room is overtaken with baby toys again.

Here is an up close picture of the adorable piece my friend Kara made for me!

I used my Silhouette machine to adjust our verse to be appropriate for a girl.

I added a little tutu to our zebra chalkboard that Shannon made for Reuben’s nursery.

And I replaced the “Welcome Reuben” sign that Joleen made for Reuben’s shower with these super cute pinwheels that she made for Gabriella’s shower.  I’m telling you, I have the craftiest sisters and friends!

So, there you have it!  I can’t wait until we can welcome Miss Gabriella Kate into her new room!

3 Comments on “Gabriella Kate’s Nursery”

  1. kiki says:

    amazing words can not explain how u did such a beautiful job her room look so peaceful 🙂

  2. Amy, you are so crafty! Gabriella’s nursery is adorable and I can’t wait to meet her!

  3. LIZ says:

    Hello were did you get the pull out light green storage in the black shelves


Leave a Reply

