Happy Fall, Y’all!

Fall is my FAVORITE time of year!  As soon as our fall like temps hit last week, I was catapulted into an instant happy place.  I mentioned some of my favorite parts of fall in this post, but I mistakingly left out two of my favorites:

THE FAIR.  Be still my beating heart.  I was deprived as a child, and never once attended the Tulsa State Fair.  My parents swear they took me at least once or twice, but I have no recollection.  About 7 years ago, a good friend properly introduced me to the wonder of the fair.  I haven’t missed a year since!  Nick and I love to go on opening night (because it’s much cheaper to get in), and we usually don’t go again.  Since I only visit the fair once a year, I guess that doesn’t make me a hard core fan, but I look forward to that Thursday night at the fair ALL YEAR LONG.  We walk, people watch, go through the animal birthing center and the petting zoo, EAT, stop at every “As Seen on TV” live demonstration and watch how these products can change our lives, check out the massive butter sculpture, watch the artists begin their set up for the cake decorating contest, etc, etc, etc.  Notice I didn’t say anything about rides.  Somehow I don’t feel very comfortable riding rides that are set up and torn down in a matter of hours.  Anyway, if you’ve never been to the fair, RUN, don’t walk, to the state fair near you.  You’ll thank me later.  In fact, here’s the website where you can find all details for the Tulsa State Fair.

Now it’s time for a prayer request.  I’m 34 weeks pregnant.  Reuben was born early at 36 weeks and 5 days.  On opening night of the fair this year, I’ll be 36 weeks 2 days.  My chances of going this year are not looking good.  Nick suggested pushing me around in a wheel chair.  I’m highly considering it.

FALL DECOR.  I always jump on the decorating bandwagon a little early when it comes to fall (and Christmas, for that matter).  I think I’m just so excited to be DONE with summer, that I get the decor up as soon as possible in order to shift my focus to the AMAZINGNESS of fall.  One of the best parts of not working anymore is getting to craft every once in a while during Reuben’s nap time instead of writing lectures, grading papers, or answering e-mails!  I don’t usually come up with ideas on my own, but I love to copy the brilliant ideas of others.  I’m definitely not a decorating guru, and have much room for improvement, but I’m pretty happy with what I have so far.  Here are some pics of my fall decor this year:

The wreath is from Gordman’s.  The sign is from the Brush Creek Craft Bazaar a few years ago.  The pumpkins are lit with twinkle lights and they came from Hobby Lobby.

These shelves from IKEA line the wall in our front hallway.  I decided this would be a great place to feature my holiday decor 🙂  I made the runner with the helpful advice of my very talented friend, Karen, and this You Tube video.  I’m not a very talented seamstress, but I can usually figure it out after having lots of help 🙂

The fall version of the frames I mentioned HERE.  Here is a link to Eighteen25’s fall frames.  I’m not much of a fan of Halloween, so I went a different route.

I made my own version of these fun little pumpkins after I saw them featured on I Heart Naptime’s blog the other day.

2 Comments on “Happy Fall, Y’all!”

  1. […] I made a new runner in fun V-Day fabrics from JoAnn’s.  My original runner post is HERE. […]


Leave a Reply

