Success!

We’ve been struggling for several months with Reuben “expressing his emotions” by pulling hair.  He’s been terrorizing his poor little friends😦  All this time we haven’t been able to link the hair pulling to a specific trigger.  If he’s happy…pulls hair.  Excited…pulls hair.  Frustrated…pulls hair.  Ornery…pulls hair.  There was a time that I stopped going to church because he was causing so much trouble in the nursery. The hair pulling was also going on at Mother’s Day Out. On the way to church or MDO, we always have a big talk about using our hands to LOVE and SERVE our friends, and not to HARM our friends. We assured Reuben that Mommy & Daddy love him very much, are very proud of him, and know that he will make good choices.  I always hold my breath when picking him up hoping he will have a good report.  I have to say that throughout this whole hair pulling stage, everyone at church and at MDO has been so wonderful and encouraging.  I’ve never felt that Reuben was loved or cared for any less due to his behavior.  After 2 weeks off, I was nervous about Reuben returning to MDO yesterday, but I was hopeful because he’d had a few good days at church.  The whole way to school Reuben was touching his hair and saying, “No, no, no, no, no!”  We had our regular talk, said our goodbyes, and Reuben ran into his class with excitement.  Well…when I arrived to pick him up, Reuben came strutting out of his class wearing a big sticker that said, “Great Job!”  He was proudly pointing to his hair and telling me, “No, no, no, no, no!”  He led me back to his classroom and stood at the door waiting for his teachers to give me the good report.  They said it was his best day ever!  Ahhhh, I can’t tell you how wonderful that felt!   We headed straight to Merritts to get a special treat!

Reuben loved his cookie!  He ate it icing first.  That’s my boy😉

image

After he woke up from his nap, we put his sticker back on and waited for Daddy to come and hear the good news!


4 Comments on “Success!”

  1. Vivi says:

    Yaaaaaay Reubs!🙂

  2. Jess G says:

    You guys are awesome parents…and your sweet boy is the proof!🙂


Leave a Reply

