My Favorite Things & A Giveaway!!!

As I prepare for Reuben’s first birthday, I’ve been reflecting on how much my life has changed in the past year.  Everything is different…the getting ready process, the going to bed process, the meal process, EVERYTHING is a process.  I consider myself to be so blessed to have a multitude of  resources and tools that make these processes so much easier.  One thing I rely on very heavily as a Mommy is the recommendations and advice from my mommy friends.  SO…I decided to make a list of baby items that I can’t live without…well, I could live without them, I just don’t choose to 🙂

Nursing Cover AKA Hooter Hider

My friend, Karen, is very crafty and talented.  One of my favorite things that she made for me is a nursing cover.  This handy little thing has been a lifesaver for nursing when around friends and/or family.  I’m so happy to share that Karen has a new website to sell some her nursing covers and other awesome items!  AND…Karen has graciously offered to do a giveaway on my blog!  If you are interested in winning an item of your choice from Karen, please check out her site and leave a comment on my blog about your favorite item.  On Thursday evening, I will randomly select a winner and post the winner on my blog.  How fun is this??

Lyrics Photography

My friend, Nicci, is an amazingly talented photographer!  She did a beautiful job capturing our new little family when Reuben was just 2 months old.  We are excited to be scheduling another photo session in celebration of Reuben’s 1st birthday!  If you are in the Tulsa area (or close), you should definitely consider hiring Nicole to take pictures for you.  She has very reasonable prices and has a very quick turnaround time.  You can check out some of her amazing work here.  Here’s a pic she took of us…

Changing Pads by Resa Design

These changing pads are SO adorable, affordable, and convenient.  I have one for the house and one for the car.  Resa is the sister in law of Karen and is equally skilled and crafty.  Be sure to check out her website to see LOTS of other adorable items.

changing pad

Medela Pump in Style Breast Pump

I bought this pump because I am a working mom and knew I would be able to make great use of it; however, I was not planning on having a baby in the NICU for 10 days.  This pump was a life saver for those first 10 days in helping me provide for Reuben even while he was in the hospital and unable to nurse.

breast pump

Baby Trend Expedition Travel System

This stroller/car seat combo is great!  It is very affordable and SO convenient.  The travel system comes with a flex-loc base that you can leave in the car and simply click the baby carrier in and out of it.  You can also buy multiple bases for multiple cars.  The stroller is very easy to steer on all kinds of terrain.
car seat combo

Summer Infant Day and Night Video Monitor

I highly recommend the video monitor.  In the days of having to let Reuben “cry it out,” this video monitor helped us to know that he was okay and not in pain.  It was also for those times that Reuben wakes up in the middle of the night.  I could simply turn the video on and make sure he is going to go back to sleep.

video monitorPraise Baby DVDs

These DVDs could get Reuben to stop crying when nothing else worked.  They are so simple yet very engaging and calming for babies.  They also have CDs for the car!

praise baby dvd

Avent Bottle Sterilizer

This sterilizer is great for bottles, pumping pieces, and toys.  I use mine all the time.  Wash your items with soap and water, pour a little pit of water in the bottom of the sterilizer, add your items, and microwave for 3 minutes.

bottle sterilizerBoppy Bare Naked Pillow

LOVE the Boppy.  This nursing pillow helped so much in positioning Reuben and avoiding discomfort in my back while nursing.  I definitely recommend getting more than one cover to have on hand in case of spit up!

boppyFisher Price Papasan Cradle Swing

When we registered for the swing, I just thought it would be a nice extra but definitely not a necessity.  We were very fortunate to get the swing as a shower gift and it quickly became a NECESSITY.  Reuben had a very tough time sleeping on his back so he slept in his swing for the first 3 months!

swing

Floppy Seat Shopping Cart Cover

I love this thing!  We use it for the shopping cart and high chairs at restaurants.  You can also attach toys to the front of it for babies to play while shopping.  It is very easy to wash too!

Biodegradable Table Toppers

These are so nice!  They are placemats that you can stick to the restaurant table so you can feed your baby finger foods without having to put it straight on the table.  These are a great thing to keep in the diaper bag!

I’m sure there are LOTS of other things that I have forgotten to mention BUT these are definitely some of my favorite luxuries/necessities.  Don’t forget to check out Karen’s website and leave a comment on my blog to be entered into the giveaway!

10 Comments on “My Favorite Things & A Giveaway!!!”

  1. CANEY says:

    This blog makes me want a baby :)….Don’t tell Karen

  2. Emily says:

    I love Karens new website! Way to go! She is SO talented and an amazing woman that I’m happy to know! I Love all her stuff but especially the hooter hiders and the aprons! How fun! 😉

  3. Jessica G says:

    Wow…your first giveaway….it’s like you’re a famous blogger!! 😉 I am super excited about Karen’s site…I was just browsing it on Sunday evening and was SO excited to see she makes aprons!! I def need a cute one!

  4. Hope Ellis says:

    Those cover-ups are such a good idea. Thanks for the cute website link. I never had one to use while nursing my son Bo, but I’m definately getting one to use with baby #2 (due in Aug.)

    Also, Reuben is such a cutie! I like looking at your pictures of him because he and Bo are only a couple of weeks apart in age. He has such a great smile.

  5. Alyse C says:

    I LOVE everything Karen does…but I especially love her aprons! I was looking at them just today!

  6. Wehaf says:

    Everything at dancing lemons is cute, but I like the totes with the recycling symbols in designer fabrics! What a cool idea!

  7. Brenda Biggs says:

    Karen is an awesome and sweet person. Talented & professional work. Her aprons are beautiful & I would love to have one. Thank you for offering this giveaway!!!!

  8. Ashley E says:

    Love the suggestions!! I’ve got to get the table toppers!

  9. Kara says:

    I LOVE the extra large tote! Would be perfect this summer at the pool!

  10. Yo Mama says:

    Love Karen’s website—so proud of her. I also love the aprons!! Just wonder if I could get those ties all the way around me to tie in the front!! HA!!


Leave a Reply

