Baby Update #6

I guess it is normal for baby news to start coming more quickly at this stage of pregnancy but I honestly wasn’t anticipating an update this soon.  Anyway, here is what is going on:

After having some minor complications/concerns over the weekend, I took the day off work yesterday to schedule a visit with my OB.  He did an ultrasound again and noticed that lil Reuben’s head was even lower than it was on Wednesday.  So, he decided to go ahead and check me for dilation.  Much to his surprise (and mine), I am dilated to 2 cm and 80% effaced.  What does that mean?  I asked the same question.  Here is what American Pregnancy Association has to say:

What is effacement?

Effacement is the process by which the cervix prepares for delivery. After the baby has engaged in the pelvis, it gradually drops closer to the cervix; the cervix gradually softens, shortens and becomes thinner. You may hear phrases like “ripens,” or “cervical thinning” which refer to effacement.

How is effacement measured?

Effacement is measured in percentages. For example, your health care provider may tell you that you are effaced 50%, which means you are half way to being completely effaced. When you are 100% effaced or completely effaced, your cervix is paper-thin and labor is right around the corner.

Dilation: Opening of the cervix. Dilation is the process of the cervix opening in preparation for childbirth. Dilation is measured in centimeters or, less accurately, in “fingers” during an internal (manual) pelvic exam. “Fully dilated” means you’re at 10 centimeters and are ready to give birth. In the same way that your health care provider may be checking for effacement in the last 2 months, your health care provider may also tell you how many centimeters your cervix has dilated.

So…I’m basically showing signs of preterm labor and I’m only 34 weeks along (pregnancy is supposed to last 40 weeks).  Because of this, the doctor has ordered that I be on bedrest effective immediately.  This means I will not be returning to work and am basically on house arrest for the next 2 weeks.  I will be returning for doctors visits every week and the strictness of the bedrest will be evaluated and adjusted as the doctor sees fit. 

Please pray for the following:

  • Reuben will get comfortable and stay put for at least 2 more weeks but preferably the next 6 weeks.   (He’s already showing likeness to his mother…trying to get a head start on life instead of just taking time to relax and grow.)
  • I will understand what it means to rest and allow friends and family to help me. 
  • I will avoid the temptation to work on the projects that are staring me in the face and begging to be done.  
  • I will be able to take advantage of this time to get my grad school work done for this semester, including my capstone paper a.k.a thesis.
  • My students at school won’t be scared or worried today at school when they get the news that Mrs. Agimudie won’t be returning.  Some of these students have had me as a teacher for 4 years.  They have been so sweet and involved in this whole pregnancy.  They will be very disappointed to not be able to feel my belly, check on the baby, sign to him (they are convinced that Reuben can a. understand sign language and b. see them signing to him), etc. over the next couple weeks.
  • Nick will be able to focus as he continues work at Deloitte.   I know it is hard for him to leave me at home and go to work downtown.  Pray for peace and clarity of mind as he does his work with excellence.

Thank you guys!  I will definitely keep you posted on lil Reuben Mac!


6 Comments on “Baby Update #6”

  1. I didn’t know you were only 34 weeks… thought you were due sooner! I will pray for his little lungs and that you make it a couple more weeks!!!!! praying….

    Rebecca

  2. I have been praying for you since Nick sent out the twitter update yesterday… I will keep praying until Reuben safely arrives. PLEASE let me know if there is anything we can do for you. Also, call anytime if you get bored : ) 813-2976

  3. Laura Beth Pomeroy says:

    Holy cow Amy!
    Josh and I will be praying for you three. For sure! wow…bless you. God’s gonna use all of this later to bring him glory. What a testimony you’ll have!

  4. Hi friend! I’m grateful God is good all the time. I’m praying for the above mentioned things (which, by the way were my exact requests to my small group tonight BEFORE reading this little update🙂. I’m loving the journey you’ve been on throughout this entire pregnancy and the faith God is growing along with the baby. You are in the heart of His will and He will bring you, Nick, and Reubs to the other side. I’m currently available for hand holding, list making, errand running, editing, library research, super fun company, etc., etc. and will be stopping by soon! Love you much and excited for God’s plan.

  5. Jen Giles says:

    Add the Giles’ to your list of pray-ers. Goodness Amy, I was on bed rest for one day with Madeline and let me tell you, it wasn’t easy🙂 I am praying for your patience and r&r. Madeline, Hannah and I are normally available to run errands or just come visit any Wed, Thurs or Friday…please please don’t hesitate to ask if you want to see some new faces. Although I will warn you, my girls are pretty darn cute and hillarious and your lil man may just be too tempted to peek out and see what’s going on🙂 I love you…all will be fine and the creator of you and your precious child will be glorified🙂

  6. Jen Giles says:

    I never realized how often I use🙂🙂🙂 faces until I came back here and saw my post🙂 funny🙂 love you🙂


Leave a Reply

