Baby Update #1

As of today, I am 9 weeks and 2 days pregnant and my due date is April 5th.  Our first doctor’s appointment was very exciting!  Nick and I were both full of nerves and anxious to see our baby and hear his/her heartbeat.  Before the doctor came in, Nick was looking around at all the tools and technology.  After a few minutes of silence, he said, “Wait….do they do anything to me at this appointments?!?!?”  I quickly reassured him that I would be the only vulnerable one surrendering all my modesty during this whole baby process.  He was quite relieved.  During the ultrasound, all we saw was a little white blob but his/her little heart was beating really fast :) 

Here I am sitting in the Dr. Nilson’s office for our first visit (August 12, 2008).

It has been so fun to share the news with everyone in our families, our friends, our church, and our jobs.  I love it that the news of a baby automatically makes everyone so happy!  It is interesting, however, how quickly ladies share their horror stories of their own pregnancy/birthing experiences.  I received this gift from our school psychologist this week.  I didn’t know whether to be grateful or disgusted.

I feel very fortunate that I haven’t had to deal with MAJOR morning sickness during this first trimester.  I am nauseous most of the day everyday but I haven’t been throwing up.  My biggest battle has been forcing myself to eat even when I don’t feel like eating because of the nausea or heartburn.  Saltines have definitely become my food of choice.  A mother of a student in my class gave me a pack of Sea Bands which have really helped with the nausea during the school day.

I feel so blessed to be experiencing the joy of pregnancy.  I am so thankful for God’s perfect timing and for an AMAZING husband who has helped me and been patient with me every step of the way.

 

 


6 Comments on “Baby Update #1”

  1. Sharon says:

    YEA!!! We are tickled pink (or blue, as the case may be) for you and NIck. You’re going to be amazing parents. Your lives will never, ever be the same! Hugs from Kansas.

  2. Melissa says:

    Amy, it’s so exciting to be hearing and following your baby news! I, along with many others, will be sending my prayers to you for a healthy pregnancy and baby.

  3. Katy says:

    Janice told me today that she left you that darling little maternity top🙂 It’s hysterical to see a picture of it!!! Congratulations on this very exciting time~ and no horror stories from me so far…..26 weeks and counting! Unless you want to talk about Mexican food. Let’s just say Abuelos and Los Cabos are NOT my pregnancy friends🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Oh Frasier. What are we going to do with that man? I miss you! Pick a few dates for our next nite out and I’ll call in Will’s parents to babysit! The Explorer is awesome!

  5. Jenni says:

    OMGoodness you are HYSTERICAL! I love reading your blog and I love your crazy sense of humor (why couldn’t you be born 10 years earlier so you could be in our TU old lady group?). I’m so excited for you and I SO hope the doctor does something to Nick. Also, I enjoy that the psychologist gave you that classy top–how’s the mental health of your students? Much love to you and your Sea Bands!!

  6. Frazier says:

    Amy, I am so glad for you and NIck. I remember times past and when you were a little downI always told you life was good and had great things in store- see! I told you so:)! I think you had that one coming as you told me I could say it someday!


Leave a Reply

