Big Announcement!

Nick and I are having a baby!!!  The news is fairly fresh so we don’t know ALL of the details but we’re thinking there will be a lil Agimudie running around in late March or early April.  I have my first OB appointment on Tuesday, August 12th so hopefully we’ll get an estimated due date at that time.  We are still a little shocked but we are SO excited to have a CHILD :)  So, for all those girls that read my blog, here are some details:

In September, God really started dealing with me about my goals and dreams in life.  Up to this point, I have been VERY focused on my career in Deaf Education and trying to pursue anything and everything that came my way.  I was going to start my Masters at NSU-BA in the Spring and decided that I would wait until that was finished to start a family.  When I expressed this goal to Nick, he seemed to be okay with that timing; however, when the prospect of a doctorate started to arise, Nick started to be more insistent on having a specific plan.  It was a shock to me, but this really stressed me out.  Growing up, I always thought that I would be the one pushing for kids and wanting to have them as soon as I got married but when I arrived to the point that it was a real possibility, I started to panic a little bit.  Nick and I started to read a book by T.D. Jakes called “Reposition Yourself.”  In this book, Bishop Jakes talks about lining yourself up with your ultimate goals and dreams in life instead of taking the apathetic path of least resistance and just wandering about to each situation as it arises.  I kept thinking and thinking about the truths in this book and realized that my calling in Deaf Education set aside, I am called, first and foremost, to be a wife and a mother.  I felt that God was asking me to give the control to Him.  Being a planner and an orgranizer, this would be a huge challenge for me but I decided that He has proven faithful and I trusted that His timing would be perfect.  In my efforts to surrender control, I stopped taking birth control and just prayed asking God to work everything out according to His purpose and His perfect plan.  Well, 9 months later, I took 2 positive pregnancy tests and I couldn’t be HAPPIER.  For a school teacher, the timing is perfect!  I will be on maternity leave for the last 2 months of school and then straight into the 2 1/2 months of summer.  It will be a challenge, but this timing also allows me to finish my Masters by next summer.  Anyway, Nick and I, our family, friends, and coworkers are all so EXCITED!  I ask that you join with me in praying for a healthy pregnancy and birth of our beautiful child. 

Here are some pictures of Nick and I as babies/toddlers.  Maybe if you cross your eyes, you can see a perfect blend of us and imagine what our children will look like. 

My little sister, Shannon, made these adorable newborn outfits in all of her excitement🙂

 

Of course our little one, will ADORE his/her Auntie Shan :)

If you don’t know yet, the McNamara family kindly refer to one another as “Daddy Ho,” “Mama Ho,” “Oldest Ho,” “Middle Ho,” and “Lil Ho.”  Appropriately, my baby will be named “Baby Ho.” 

  In baby talk, it is necessary to leave the ‘s’ off of the beginning of the word.  It makes things sound way cuter.

 

If you don’t know what Twitter is, click here.

And, OF COURSE, our lil guy/gal will be BFFs with this guy…


17 Comments on “Big Announcement!”

  1. Jodi says:

    Congrats, congrats, congrats!!! It doesn’t seem possible that we are OLD enough! Doesn’t it seem like yesterday we were in yearbook!?! Geez louise, where has time gone? I am so happy for you! Yeah!! 🙂

  2. Megan (Terrell) Bunke says:

    Hey Amy!
    I was on facebook.com an saw that you had a big announcement so i had to come check it out!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
    Im so happy for you!
    Being a mommy is awesome! I could not imagine anything better that God could give me, then my daughters!
    Good luck with everything and tell your family i said hi!

  3. Lala says:

    Yay yay yay! I am so happy for you! Woot woot!

  4. Sheree says:

    Amy,
    Wow!!!! I am so excited for you guys! To hear your heart and how God was/is preparing you to grow your family is amazing. We are definitely in agreement for healthy pregnancy/baby and smooth delivery.
    The pictures of you two are adorable, when I crossed my eyes I saw the cutest lil Agimudie you could imagine:)
    Love,
    Sheree

  5. troyer keane says:

    hi aunt amy!
    mommy told me the news and i’m so excited to have another bff….so far it’s just Jesus, Daddy & Mommy. I need another one. =)
    I love you & uncle nick! Thanks for taking care of my cuz.

  6. Shannon says:

    Too cool! Congrats to all of you (You, Nick, and Baby) God is Good and He works in mysterious ways! Prayin’ for ya’ll🙂

  7. Alyse says:

    I am so happy for you! I knew it was coming soon! God is so faithful and I look forward to hearing all of the provision and blessings that will overtake you on your next step in life! All three of you are loved and prayed for!

  8. Mandy Hill says:

    Congratulations Amy!! I am so excited for you guys!

  9. Yay!! Since I’ve met you 2 I’ve been wondering when this would FINALLY happen. You guys will be amazing parents and your child will be beautiful with a little bit of musical talent too I bet! :o) Please keep me posted!

  10. Sharon says:

    That’s the BEST news I’ve heard all week …. no, all month! Congrats!!!!! Your life is about to change in such a wonderful, but challenging way. All our best to you as you begin this new chapter together. Hugs from Wichita, Sharon

  11. christy says:

    Yea congrats, we are only a few weeks ahead of yall🙂 This is too exciting!!!!

  12. Jessica G says:

    YAY!! You guys are going to be amazing parents! I’m so excited for you!!

  13. jaymz says:

    OMG!!! I am so stoked for you guys! I’ve been wondering when this would happen! Isn’t it crazy how our Creator works sometimes?! We are gonna have a little Mini Trini runnin’ around! Your baby is going to be gorgeous! I keep you, Nick, and the Lil One in my thoughts and prayers!
    Love you guys!

  14. Jen says:

    I’m glad your news is finally blog-fficial🙂
    I hope your OB appt went well!! Continuing to pray for you!

  15. Karen says:

    I dont’ know how I missed this post – well, yes, I do…things are crazy lately, but calming down. ANYWAY! I love the onesies Shannon made! I’m so excited for this little one!

  16. OMG! Jodi’s post is EXACTLY what I said tonight. How funny! I’m so happy for you and Nick and the fam. Love the onesies Shannon made. They are hilarious. And Love the baby pics of you and Nick. One thing we know for sure is that he/she will have the biggest smile of them all. Watch out world, baby Agimudie is coming at ya!


Leave a Reply

