I Got Confused…

This has been a really intense week.  I’ve been taking Ed Research as a 1 month summer school class in which we write the first 3 chapters of our thesis and it has been the reason for a serious lack of sleep.  Typically a lack of sleep leads to either grumpiness or delirium.  Luckily, this week it has been delirium.  There were 2 things yesterday that caused me to laugh like I haven’t laughed in a long time. 

First of all, in my other summer school class, Literacy Assessment, there are 15 women.  It is a fun class and I’m learning a TON.  Anyway, one of the women in my class is this sweet, precious nun.  She comes dressed everyday in her full on garb and has such a precious motivation and desire to teach children to read.  There is a lady in our class that sits next to Sister everday.  This lady is full of spunk and as cute as can be. 

Over the course of the 3 weeks, Sister and Spunky have become good friends.  So, everyday, about half way through the class, we have a 10 minute break.  Spunky (approx 40 years old and married) has a favorite activity during this break…to walk by another classroom and stand outside the window drooling over a young former classmate of hers (approx 25-30 years old and single).  Well, yesterday, Sister was in the wrong place at the wrong time.  She was innocently walking down the hall to refill her glass with water when Spunky roped her in and begged her to set her conscience aside and check this young man out.  Spunky convinced Sister that a few extra “hail marys” would be a small price to pay for the gift of staring at this young man.  Sister was so embarrassed…she was blushing from head to toe…the rest of us took off in a sprint to the bathroom so as not to wet ourselves.

That class is over around 11:40 and my next class starts at 1:30 so I head home for a nice long lunch break.  After switching out my books and making sure all my homework was printed out and ready to go, I sat down on the couch to enjoy my lunch and watch a little TV.  I decided to watch a new show called “Wipeout.”  I was interested in this show because when I saw the previews it reminded me of a show that I used to watch in college called “Most Extreme Eliminations.”  Watching that show with my friends is one of my fondest memories from college…lots of fun and laughs.  Well, let me tell you, I only watched about 15 minutes until I was laughing so hard that there were HUGE tears running down my cheeks. 

 

http://abc.go.com/player/?channel=114931&campaign=DIS05wipeOut&pn=index&cid=rm+summer+google+Wipeout

As we all know, it’s not nearly as fun to laugh when you don’t have someone to share it with.  Well, Nick’s been in DC all week, but I felt that this was a VERY good reason to call him while he was at work.  The problem was…while the phone was ringing I was picturing the show and I started to laugh…hard…harder…harder.  Nick picked up the phone and by this time I was in FULL ON confusion.  (Confusion:  A McNamara family trait that involves laughing so hard that eventually your emotions get confused and you start sobbing uncontrollably for no apparent reason.  This is very embarrassing when it happens in public…AKA…the marriage conference in the middle of Joe McGee’s message.)  During this CONFUSION, I was trying desperately to find a breath and let Nick know that everything was okay…that I was actually laughing and not crying…but the words WOULD NOT come.  Bless Nick’s heart.  He finally got up from his desk, found a quiet place, and begged me to tell him what had happened.  By this time, he was convinced that someone had died and I was wailing in utter sorrow.  I finally calmed down to explain to him that I was just laughing about people getting knocked off of a pole with a gigantic stick.  Needless to say, he was not amused; however, I hope you were by my stories!

 


4 Comments on “I Got Confused…”

  1. Alyse says:

    I have so been there. I watched Wipeout too…so hilarious! Wish I could have seen Nick’s face! Have a great weekend

  2. karenluper says:

    Haha…I can picture that poor nun. Is the guy even that cute?

  3. Jodi says:

    Oh Amy! I am so glad you joined blog land!! Can I just say that I LOVE NUNS!!!!! I am always so fascinated by them and ALWAYS stare at them like a 5 year old when I see them out. I am so jealous that you were in class with one!🙂 Have you done your masterpiece yet?!

  4. BRILLIANT. I’m grateful for the definition of “confusion” and for your stories, which will keep me laughing all afternoon! Welcome, friend.


Leave a Reply

