I’m Sorry

 

 

There seems to be a bit of a trend lately in some viral posts about women…specifically moms…trying to come out from under the pressure of Pinterest.

There was the FB post from a mom in Florida writing about her thoughts on trying to measure up as a mom that went viral…

There’s Kelly’s post today…

There’s Jen Hatmaker’s post last week…

I must admit.  I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed the last couple of weeks…well, really the whole year, but here’s a glimpse into why the last couple of weeks stressed me out…

Here’s what came of my Advent plans and intentions this year.  My cute stockings were pulled to the ground.  I managed to pick them up and pile them on the piano, but that’s where they stayed.  I think we got around to doing approximately half of our planned activities.  Guess which one’s I posted about on Facebook?  The few we accomplished.

20121227-092215.jpg

Our Christmas tree never got a star this year and Reuben asked me one day, “Mommy, why doesn’t our tree have a star on top?”  When I took our star out of the box, it was broken and I just never got around to buying a new one.  It finally got close enough to Christmas that I realized it would just be better to buy a new one when all the Christmas stuff went on sale AFTER Christmas.

20121227-092222.jpg

This is my living room right now.  Enough said.

20121227-092229.jpg

AND…Ella Reu headquarters needs some serious love and attention.

20121227-092235.jpg

Back in October, Angie Smith wrote this post about “The New Pretty.”  She talked about starting a new revolution of showing pictures of our reality rather than our highlight reel.  This post really resonated with me.

So…this is all what brings me here today.  I want to apologize.  The majority of the time, I have the BEST intentions when I post anything on this blog or on FaceBook.  I very rarely come up with my own idea…most of what I do is copied from someone else who shared…so I want to share what I do via social media to spread the love and ideas to other people.  HOWEVER, I am always more motivated to show my best than I am to be honest about my daily reality.  I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in my struggle to make sure people believe I have it all together and am successfully living out my life as a stay-at-home-mom, pastor’s wife, and recent small business owner.

What I DON’T want to happen is in my effort and attempt to make you believe I have it all together to make you feel like you are any less than your best.

A friend of mine came up to me at church last night to hug me and thank me for posting a “real” FaceBook status.  This is what I wrote:

Anyone else considered lining up childcare for holiday festivities with family? Not for ALL of it…just to enjoy a few family traditions without having to chase the little crawling human vacuum or discipline the ball-throwing-in-the-house, toddler-and-baby-wrestling, constantly-on-the-move-and-questioning-everything little boy.

No? Just me? K, cool.

#worstmomever

The truth is…no one usually comes up to me to hug me and thank me for posting a picture of the cute new craft I did or the clean house I keep.  I’m not saying I won’t ever post anything like this again, I just want to make a new and fresh commitment to be REAL…to share my REAL life and my REAL struggles.  My heart is TRULY to dispel the lies and make other women feel that they are NOT alone in their struggles with motherhood, measuring up, weight, fashion, etc.

And I want to sincerely apologize.  I’m sorry if the things I’ve posted via social media have ever made you feel less than best.  The truth is, I struggle daily with measuring up.  I’m in a process with God in which I am RE-learning the truths He has laid out in His Word which clearly describe how He feels about me and choosing to BELIEVE them.  I want to be open and honest and share my journey with you because there have been women along my path who have done the same for me and it has made such a difference!

So…here’s my heart…in a random, unplanned, disjointed blog post.

Know that you are LOVED.  You are TREASURED.  And you are ENOUGH.

(P.S. I make no apologies for pictures or posts bragging about my children.  It’s a mother’s duty to brag, right?!?  I sure love reading about and seeing all of your babies!!)

3 Comments on “I’m Sorry”

  1. Angela RUtherford says:

    Thanks for being real :) I love to read your blog. Makes not having kids a little easier and i live through you a little.

  2. Jill Anneler says:

    Thank you Amy! I think that’s a daily reality for most moms, I know for sure it is for me! I saw a friend post on facebook one day that she stalks her friends pictures & looks in the background to see if their houses are as messy as hers. I can relate!

  3. Adria says:

    This is my favorite thing ever. It’s so nice to feel not alone! I spend most of my picture taking effort trying to find a backdrop that doesn’t show piles of stuff or dirty dishes, etc. in the background. Fantastic post!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers