Pride Comes Before a Fall

So…I was working on preparing Advent activities to do with Reuben this year and ran across a website that has several FREE Pre-K packs that are categorized by a variety of holidays and themes. They are super cute! I decided the Winter Wonderland and Nativity Packs would be great to have on hand to use with Reuben when we have down time. He has been highly interested in all things counting, shapes, alphabet, reading related so these seem right up his alley.

These Pre-K packs are super cute and I wanted to use them more than once SO I figured I would print them in color on card stock paper and laminate the pages that required writing. This way Reuben could just use a dry erase marker and work on them over and over. Once I got them all printed, I headed to Mardel to laminate them.

After working as a school teacher for 7 years, I feel very confident in my laminating skills. In fact, dealing with lamination was one of my favorite parts of being a teacher. Preparing for each school year felt like Christmas to me because I would have a LARGE stack of lamination that needed to be cut out. The stress of an impending first day of school was quickly minimized the moment I sat down in front of the TV, grabbed my trusty pair of scissors, and started to glide my way through the stack of lamination. LOVED IT.

Because of my extensive resume in the field of lamination, I confidently walked back to the machine, checked to make sure all the appropriate lights were lit, the perfect speed was set, and the level of heat was just right. Once all these things were properly checked and adjusted, I began the process of sending my cute little Pre-K pack through the laminator, one page at a time.

As I was sending my pages through, I was thinking to myself:

“You know, Mardel sure has a lot of faith in the customer to allow any Joe Schmo to come back here and use this expensive machine. I mean, I’m highly qualified and have extensive experience, but not everyone is qualified as I when it comes to the art of lamination. There are so many people who could really screw these machines up.”

Suddenly, my prideful thoughts were interrupted by a Mardel employee, who looked herself to be a retired school teacher who probably had her own extensive resume in laminating, waving her hands at me and telling me to stop the machine. You see, what I didn’t realize as I was having an award ceremony in my head in which I presented the award for BEST LAMINATOR EVER to myself, was that the beautiful pages I was sending through were not coming out the other side. Instead, they were jamming up and wrapping back into the machine.

I was horrified.

How could I, not just any Joe Schmo off the street, jam up the laminator?!? The poor retired school teacher had to take the machine apart and CUT MY PAGES OUT OF THE MACHINE. I stumbled all over my words as I tried to prove to her that I knew what I was doing, followed all the procedures, and tried to convince her that there must be something wrong with the machine.

I don’t think she bought it.

I hung my head in shame as I carried my wad of halfway laminated preschool papers under my arm and walked out of the store. As I walked away, I looked over my shoulder just in time to see an “Out of Order” sign being taped to the front of the laminator.

First pride, then the crash— the bigger the ego, the harder the fall.

–Proverbs 16:18 (The Message)


3 Comments on “Pride Comes Before a Fall”

  1. Lori Hill says:

    I always enjoy reading your blog!

  2. Shannon says:

    Ouch! I, too, love laminating…

  3. Becca says:

    Laughing my butt off… that’s classic!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers