Hello, My Name is Amy And I’m A Super Mom

I’ve been called a “super mom” a few times lately, and while I’m sure it’s intended to be a compliment, it’s made me cringe a little bit.  It’s led me to over-evaluate the things I put out there via Facebook and this blog, and wonder if I’m adding to the pressure that society is putting on moms to perform more rather than being an encouragement and simply sharing our family’s story, which is my desire.

My initial reaction was to write a blog and list all the ways in which I’m NOT a “super mom”…

  • My house hasn’t been deep cleaned in nearly a month.
  • It’s a struggle for me to get down on the floor and play with my kids.  I find it very boring and unproductive.
  • I haven’t filled out either child’s baby book beyond their first month of life.
  • I struggle with maintaining a regular quiet time.
  • If Reuben brushes his teeth once a day, we’re lucky.  I often forget to have him do it.
  • And the list could go on and on and on…

But, the more I thought about it, the more I realized you’re right.  I am a “super mom.”  Not because of what I accomplish, how many homemade clothes I make for my kids, how many organic meals I cook for our family, whether our Christmas cards are mailed out on time, or whether I have my child reading novels by age two.

I am a “super mom” because HE called me, chose me, and equipped me to be Reuben and Gabriella’s mom.  Period.

*****

Here are some of my secrets to maintaining my “super mom” status:

I remain confident in the work He is doing in me and that He will carry it to completion.

I can be confident on the days when I wonder if any of us will survive another 24 hours…when I wonder if the kids will be scarred for life because of the way I lost my temper…when I’m unsure if anything I can do will sufficiently meet the needs of my children…because He is faithful to complete the work He started when He blessed me with my children.

“…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”  –Phillipians 1:6

*****

I trust that He has perfectly equipped me for this job.

I can move forward each day knowing that He has fully equipped me to be the mother of my children.  I will choose to follow peace and the Holy Spirit when making decisions and in doing so will act in accordance with His will.  Because of this, any success I may experience can be fully attributed to Him.  My response to compliments can be a simple redirection giving all glory and honor back to Him.

“Now may the God of peace…equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” –Hebrews 13:21

*****

I recognize that any success I experience can be wholly attributed to Him.

I will be a success and future generations will look back and call me and my family blessed NOT because I wrote the best blog, made the best crafts, or kept the cleanest house, but simply because He has done great things for me and my family.  For that, I am grateful and my natural response is to worship Him.

“And Mary said: “My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant.  From now on all generations will call me blessed, for the Mighty One has done great things for me– holy is his name.”  Luke 1:46-49

*****

I trust Him to direct my steps.

Knowing what our next step should be can feel SO overwhelming. BUT, knowing that He cares about the details of our lives AND that He won’t let me fail even though I may take a step in the wrong direction, takes the pressure off!  Following peace is my safest bet.  One doctor says one thing, another doctor says another, one friend gives this advice, another friend advises something different leaving my head spinning in the details…but where does my heart have peace?  That’s the path I should take and CAN take knowing that He will not let me fall.

“The Lord directs the steps of the godly.  He delights in every detail of their lives.  Though they may stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.”  Psalm 37:23-24

*****

I do my best to see myself through His eyes.

God has created me as a MASTERPIECE, a “super mom” if you will.  He did not create me to be a good enough mom or a barely-getting-by mom.  Because of the work of Jesus and the sacrifice He made on the cross, I am found blameless, spotless, and perfect.  Every new circumstance I encounter can be approached with boldness in knowing He has designed me for this and He has planned for me to be victorious.

“For we are God’s masterpiece.  He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” Ephesians 2:10

*****

I rely on His power at work within me.

Society has laid out an infinitely long list of things I should accomplish as a “super mom.”  I have made an even longer list for myself of tasks to check off my to-do list before I could ever be a rest and feel that I have successfully achieved my much coveted status as “super mom.”  But thanks to the work He is doing within me, I have the ability to accomplish much GREATER.  Not in the sense of more tasks, but in the sense of higher impact.  AND ALL GLORY GOES BACK TO HIM.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” Ephesians 4:20

*****

I allow Him to guide me rather than doing what I think might be best.

Most importantly, I can’t trust myself.  I don’t know and can’t see the big picture.  I could allow this to leave me completely overwhelmed or I can seek Him with each day, each decision, each trial, and each struggle and trust Him to guide me and rest in His direction.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”  Proverbs 3:5-6

*****

So…there are some of my secrets to being a “super mom.”  None of this by my power or my doing, but because that’s who He’s created me to be…perfectly fit and designed to be the best mom to Reuben and Gabriella.

And YOU are perfectly designed and fit to be the best mom to your babies.

You are his/her/their “super mom.”

2 Comments on “Hello, My Name is Amy And I’m A Super Mom”

  1. Becca says:

    I needed to read this tonight. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers