Delightfully Inspiring Thursday: Laundry Room Makeover

BEFORE

My laundry room was a messy, unorganized, eye sore for entirely too long.  I never really imagined it as a room to be decorated until I started seeing ideas on some organization blogs I follow and on Pinterest, of course.  The top of the dryer was a catch all for any manner of things that didn’t have a home.  There was no color in the room at all.  Nothing about it was a happy place.

Ugh.  Unorganized cleaning supplies and a blurry picture.  Terrible.

INSPIRATION

My laundry room is one of the places that I most often find myself being thankful.  At least once a month, while doing laundry, I pray and thank God that I have a functioning washer and dryer in my home, and that we are blessed with so many clothes that need to be washed and dried.  I know it sounds silly.  Believe me, I’m often overwhelmed by the constant flow of laundry, but, it has consistently been a chore that leads me to thanksgiving.

I was given this print as part of a Christmas gift and decided I wanted to hang it by the door in my laundry room that leads out to the garage.  This makes it the last thing I see before I leave the house and hopefully will serve as a constant reminder to live my life on purpose.  The days in my life as a stay-at-home-mom can start to feel pretty mundane and purposeless, but I know that I can be intentional in everything I do…including going to the grocery store.  You can get your own copy of the print for free HERE.  I got the idea to hang it from a pants hanger from none other than Ashley Ann.

When I saw this picture on Pinterest, it got my wheels turning about some simple things I could do in my small laundry room to maximize storage and design…namely the shelf.

DURING

I went to Lowe’s and bought two boards (48 in long x 12 in wide x 1 in thick) and asked the nice man to cut them to size.  I also bought four L brackets, a can of primer, and a sample sized container of the paint I wanted.  This all cost me about $30 (if I remember correctly).  When I was shopping for the supplies at Lowe’s, I felt like I might as well have been shopping the streets of Tokyo.  I felt totally overwhelmed and out of place, but I was motivated, so I trudged on.

I set the two boards up on some boxes in my garage, primed them first, and then followed up with two coats of paint.

Then, I bribed our good friend and neighbor with brownies to come over and hang the shelves for me.  Nick and Reuben “supervised” to make sure everything was done correctly.  Rob did in 45 minutes what would have taken Nick and me several hours and quite possibly a few trips to see a marriage counselor.

The next thing I did was make my first batch of homemade laundry detergent which I posted about HERE.

I used a scrap piece of wood from one of the shelves to make this key holder which I posted about HERE.

And finally, I got started on the decorating and made painted the canvas with a chevron pattern which I posted about HERE.

AFTER

  • I rearranged the shelves in the cabinet so the space was used more effectively.
  • I posted the “Laundry Stain Cheat Sheet” that I found on Pinterest on the inside of the cabinet door to use as a quick guide.
  • I made sure that the items I use the most often are on the bottom shelves for easiest access, including the green basket that holds all the cleaning supplies that I carry around to different areas of the house.

  • I kept the tension rod I use for hanging clothes to dry, but I moved it up a bit.
  • I saw the adorable storage baskets on I Heart Organizing’s post about her bathroom and knew they would be perfect in the laundry room.  They were definitely one of the splurges.  I bought 2 large and 2 small for about $40.
  • I did a google search for laundry room sayings and fell in love when I found this one.  Being a Type A personality, it can often be a challenge for me to allow Reuben to have fun without worrying about the mess.  I’m hoping this quote will serve as a gentle reminder on the days I feel like I might have a full-fledged panic attack if one more thing gets dirty.  I already had black vinyl on hand and used my Cameo to cut it out…so this project was FREE.

  • My ironing board cover was PITIFUL so I paid $8 for this new one from Target.

  • I’m using the basket on the left to hold the supplies for my Swiffer and Shark steam mop.
  • The basket on the right is for laundry supplies…like bleach, stain remover, and garment bags.

  • I got the adorable bird lamp from Gordman’s for $10.  I looked and looked for a little lamp that would fit in this space.  When I saw this, I knew it was perfect!
  • I use the basket on the left for random odds and ends that don’t have another home.  I’m realizing it’s important to have these types of baskets around my house to avoid clutter.  I can put the items in this basket until I find a home for them or until I decide I don’t need them anymore.
  • The basket on the right has dryer sheets, a bleach pen, shout wipes, and a bar a Fels-Naptha AKA a stain removing miracle worker.

Let me take a moment and tell you about this rug.  Because I wasn’t painting the walls in my laundry room, I knew I needed to bring in color in other ways.  I used the “Live Your Life on Purpose” print to inspire the colors of my shelves and storage baskets.  Once I had those colors in place, I searched and searched for the perfect rug.  I bought one from Kirkland’s, but decided it wasn’t really the color scheme I was going for.  Then, I decided I was going to spray paint a scrolly black rubber mat that I already had in order to bring in some color…BUT, I couldn’t find the right colors of spray paint.  I was feeling super discouraged and THEN, Jen over at I Heart Organizing posted THIS.  I felt like the heavens opened up and angels started singing when I saw the rug.  I literally ran into the office to look up the rug and the Hallelujah Chorus got even louder in my head when I realized it was only $34 for this 3×5 rug from Urban Outfitters.  I bought it right away…and quickly realized that I’m officially old because I felt SO happy about a rug.

Before, I used the top of these cabinets to store a bucket and random cleaning supplies.  No more!  I didn’t really have an idea of what I wanted so I just perused the aisles of Target, Gordman’s, and Hobby Lobby until I found some things that stuck out to me.

  • The lantern is from Target.  It was $10.  I decided to fill it up with clothes pins (100 pack from Walmart for about $3) because I felt it was only appropriate being the laundry room and all :)
  • The A is from Gordman’s.  It was $9.
  • I had the yellow bucket in my garage with all my classroom/teaching supplies.  I filled it with the floral arrangement (is that what that’s called?!?) from Gordman’s that was $2.

So…there you have it!  I’m D.O.N.E and very happy with the way it turned out.  My laundry room is definitely a MUCH happier space.

14 Comments on “Delightfully Inspiring Thursday: Laundry Room Makeover”

  1. [...] and that’s what this entire post is about. Get the full before and after story from Amy right here. Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]

  2. Shannon says:

    Love it! Speaking from experience, shopping the streets of Tokyo is, well, not something soon forgotten!

  3. Sherri Swinson says:

    Amy, I love it!!!!! I am loving that God has blessed you with both a boy and a girl and that you are able to stay home and raise them. This makes you a “homemaker,” something that the world does not value because this job is about OTHERS…….not self-promotion. When I married James (both of us having been in church all our lives but both of us being LOST), it was important to him that when we have children, I would stay home and raise them. I agreed, but only because I WAS NEVER GOING TO HAVE CHILDREN–my career was everything to me!! God has such a sense of humor………the most important thing I have done in life is what you are now doing. Staying home and raising children. Yes, there are days (you know what I mean) when you wonder if you have disappeared off the face of the earth, but God sees everything you do and it is all for His glory. It is worth it!!

    This laundry room project is so like you (haha and so like me)!! I love that you posted it and enjoyed reading through your project. I had to laugh about at comments about having angst about the getting dirty part of childhood–again, so me!! I think I dressed my children up to play–and Mary Catherine accuses of me of forever marring her with being known as the girl with the “curly side pony tail and huge bow!” We did off set that pristeen reputation by having a barn and horses and cleaning out stalls every day (but always with a pony tail and huge bow)!!

    All that to say, ENJOY THIS SEASON OF LIFE because it will pass by all too quickly.
    Love you always, Sherri

    • amymacagi says:

      Sherri, this means so much to me. Thank you for taking the time to encourage me so much! Yes, I know exactly what days you’re talking about and I’m thankful to hear that a woman I admire so much remembers being in the same boat as me and relates to me so well. This gives me hope!

  4. Ashley says:

    I love the transformation!!! I have needed a laundry room makeover too. This gives me some great ideas…Thanks!

  5. Rebekah says:

    I love it! We spend so much time in there….it should look this fabulous! Great colors!

  6. Heather Tiger says:

    Love, love it! I’m super impressed and inspired Amy! I have it bookmarked for inspiration when I get around to re-doing my sad little laundry room. I better work on the nursery first!
    I think the print and wall quote are awesome. I, myself, have realized I start going into panic mode the messier Micah gets, and it steals his joy and mine. Great reminder!

  7. [...] already had the primer from THIS project, so I covered each plaque with a few, quick [...]

  8. [...] Room: I blogged about my process of organizing my laundry room HERE.  There are several before and after pictures.  I received most of my inspiration from Jen over [...]

  9. Lindsey Hendson says:

    I have a number of bins similar to these guys that I have purchased at Target over the years and love. I have used them in the kitchen, bathroom, living room… everywhere. I bought these online because I needed a bunch and these seemed like a good deal. I could tell when I took them out of the package that they were cheaper than the ones I was used to but I figured they would do the job. I loaded them up with DVDs-

    Most current short article straight from our new blog site
    <,http://www.caramoantourpackage.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers